If You Want It, Say It

confessionEvery woman desires for her man to claim her as his. I’m not talking about owning her as if she is his possession, but owning up to being in a relationship with her and being proud of it. I remember the first time Russell introduced me to one of his associates after a few months of dating. “This is my lady Briana,” he said with boldness. I was relieved, as the question of the title he would give me in front of others had been on my mind. Any hesitation or unwillingness to claim me would not only be an  insult but also an indication of doubt about my place in his life. Then I would have been left feeling confused about just where I stood in the relationship equation. This dynamic works the same way when we are waiting on God to fulfill His promises, no matter what they are, in our lives. Here’s what I mean.

The basis of the Christian faith is, well faith–faith in what is not seen with the natural eye or felt with the five senses. The believer lives by faith–period. That is the only way to please God (Hebrews 11:6). One way to express our belief is by what we say or confess out of our mouths. That is how you and I received salvation.

“That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved” (Romans 10:9 KJV).

Salvation did not require jumping through any hoops or performing any grueling rituals. All that was required was a belief in your heart on Jesus Christ and a confession from your mouth stating that belief. Your belief together with your spoken words, which is a work of faith, equal your active working faith.

 Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works” (James 2:17-18).

And that is what yields results. This is not to say that everything in your life will go as you expect or that you will live a trial free life of ease because of your faith confessions. Jesus said that in this life we’d experience persecution for the cause of Christ and that trials would come, but those trials don’t have to defeat you. It’s according to what you say and believe. I know because it has worked for me. A few years ago after an annual doctor’s appointment I received a abnormal lab result which indicated the presence of abnormal cells that if not corrected could develop into cancer. My doctor said that she would need to do a biopsy to make sure the cells weren’t cancerous and I’d come back in a few weeks for the results.

I didn’t waste any time. I knew what the Bible had to say about calling on the elders of the church to pray for the healing of the sick so I asked my pastor and his wife to pray for me about that situation. But I didn’t leave it at that. I found a book of confessions on healing and tailored it specifically for the condition my doctor discussed with me, and every day from the day I received prayer until the day I returned to the doctor for the results I repeated it.

“I call every cell of my body to be normal in Jesus’ name. Cancer cannot live in my body. I speak and I say that my body is well from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ” I would say aloud and with authority. I said it until I believed it. When I went in that doctor’s office I knew without a shadow of a doubt that all was well, and it was. The biopsy came back negative for cancer, and the next year when I returned for my annual checkup there were no signs of abnormal cells at all. Some people might think this strange or preposterous but it works. It’s the process of faith, and it is how the world was formed. God spoke and everything came into existence.

“Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear” (Hebrews 11:3).

Now if I had done the opposite by accepting the doctor’s information as truth and either confessed the worst outcome or said nothing at all to combat the attack against me, things may have turned out differently. That was a chance I was not willing to take. I am convinced this process will work for anything you are believing God to do in your life if it is according to His will and in line with His Word. By anything I do mean anything, including a suitable spouse if that is what you desire. Find a confession or create your own loaded with scriptural promises concerning what it is you desire in a relationship and in a mate (I included some relationship-specific confessions in “Wait on God”). Confess it until it manifests. Confess it at all times just like a man should confess his love for his woman at all times, not just when it is convenient or easy. Confess it with power and authority to let God and the devil know where you stand–on God’s Word. You don’t have to let everyone in on your work of faith either because not everyone will understand or agree, but that doesn’t matter. All that matters is that your words agree with God’s words. Keep in mind that you are not speaking your words. You are speaking God’s words, and God’s words have power!

So just as my husband claimed me that day and just as I claimed my healing, claim what you desire God to do for you. If it is a godly husband, claim him. If it is peace of mind until he arrives, claim it. If it is to live a holy and sanctified single life, claim that too. And do not hesitate or waver because hesitation is a sign of unbelief, which makes it impossible to receive from God.

“But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord” (James 1:6-7).

I encourage you to make a daily habit to say what God says, and watch Him honor your faith by working on your behalf to bring you what you desire.

Based on Chapter 5 of “Wait on God:What Every Single Woman Should Know to Receive God’s Best!”

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. factbasedtruth
    Dec 24, 2014 @ 22:25:22

    While it’s nice if some can get healing or a spouse, sometimes that’s just not a part of God’s greater plan with regards to His main purpose of advancing the cause of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and fulfilling His desires. I don’t want this criticism to come off the wrong way, but it sounds as if you’re saying we can manipulate God to whatever we desire if we just keep pushing him about what we want, but perhaps I’m misunderstanding you. It seems what Scripture advocates more is being content regardless of what the circumstances are, good or bad, just as Paul was, because we live for a greater purpose than whatever we personally desire. But I respect if you disagree or don’t think I understand. 🙂

    Reply

    • Young Woman in Action
      Dec 25, 2014 @ 00:03:42

      Thank you, factbasedtruth for your comment! I have heard this “criticism” before, and when I had the chance to explain to the person via telephone they understood where I was coming from, but since all I have is this blog to explain myself better, I’ll do my best to defend my point. I am not at all saying that we can manipulate God to do whatever we want. The whatever we want must be according to His will, which is His Word. If He has promised healing, and He has (Isaiah 53:5, Matthew 8:17, James 5:14-15, Matthew 9:27-29 and multiple scriptures where Jesus healed people based on their faith) I have no better sense than to believe that He is able and will do it. Mark 11:22-24 talks about having faith in God and speaking to a mountain (which represents an obstacle) for it to be removed out of the way. He also says that if we believe and do not doubt that we shall have whatsoever we say. God’s words, not mine. So me speaking to an unfavorable situation or speaking desirable things into existence is not manipulation, it’s how faith works. God is not responding to my wishlist as though he is a genie. He is responding to my faith just as He responded to Abraham’s faith and all the other forerunners of faith outlined in Hebrews 11:1. He made a promise. Abraham believed God, did not stagger in faith even though the odds were against him, and God honored his faith by fulfilling His promise that he would be the father of many nations. Yes, we should be content, but that doesn’t mean God doesn’t put a desire in us to want more (Psalms 37:4). If we didn’t have a desire to want more or better, what would we need faith for in our daily lives? The just live by faith. We are not only saved by faith. AND how can God’s children having their desires fulfilled (again, desires birthed by God from His Word) be a hindrance to the advancement of the Kingdom of God? Who would want to serve a God who is known only for suffering and lack or who has pick people to bless? I wouldn’t. If God’s children live in a way that shows others how much of a provider He is and how he does in fact keep His promises, I think that does much to draw others to Him. As for pushing him about what we want, 1 John 5:14-15 says “And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.” I don’t know about you, but I take that to mean He doesn’t mind me petitioning Him if I am asking according to what He already said in His Word I can have. One last point, making confessions isn’t as much for God as it is for us. Faith comes by hearing and when we develop a habit of saying what God says, it builds our faith. The more I say it, the more I believe it. The more I believe it, the more faith I exercise. As you stated, I respect if you disagree or don’t think I understand, but I hope that this helps a little to shed more light on my point. Thanks again for the constructive feedback. I enjoy it. 🙂 Be blessed with God’s best!

      Reply

  2. factbasedtruth
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 03:56:01

    Thank you for thoroughly providing a response to my post, and also that you allowed for a critical comment. I don’t want to appear as if I’m debating with you, so I do apologize if it comes off as if I am, but I just have more thought to add for consideration with some of your points, and I’ll gladly allow you to have the last word if we still disagree, and just agree to disagree. So I’d like to go verse by verse with you in your references. Isaiah 53:5, I would suggest we observe what the first part of the verse is talking about. Now we know this is referring to Christ because Peter alludes back to this verse in reference to Christ in 1 Peter 2:24. So observing the first part of the verse, Isaiah 53:5 states, “But he was wounded for our transgressions, crushed for our iniquities;” I think we’d agree this refers to Christ’s Crucifixion. So within that context, continuing the verse it states, “upon him was the punishment that made us whole, and by his bruises we are healed”. I would suggest to you based on the context of what’s being discussed in this verse, the healing is referring to the healing of our sins. Now the next verse you quoted, Matthew 8:17, as I’m sure you know references back to Isaiah 53:4. But for this verse we need only to look at the context of Matthew 8:17, by looking at the prior verses. Jesus healed people and casted away demons. So in context, Matthew 8:17 appears to just be affirming the fulfillment of the prophecy. This does not appear to be a general statement directed to the body of Christ. Moving to James 5:14-15, it states, “14 Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 The prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise them up; and anyone who has committed sins will be forgiven.” Interesting thing about this verse, anointing with oil was actually a common use of medicine during those times. So it not only refers to praying, but also taking medicine. But to address your usage of this verse, pay attention to the last half of verse 15. “and the Lord will raise them up; and anyone who has committed sins will be forgiven.” Now I think a good question to ask, is why is this referring to sins when the first part of the verse appeared just to be talking about physical sickness. Let’s continue to verse “16 Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed.” Ok, healed from what? Well, verse 19 appears to be our answer, “My brothers and sisters, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and is brought back by another, 20 you should know that whoever brings back a sinner from wandering will save the sinner’s soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.” Now maybe I’m wrong, but just going by the context of the verses, the larger context is talking about saving a sinner’s soul from death. Which would seem to make sense since it was talking about healing earlier. Now the next verse you quote, Matthew 9:27-29, is Jesus healing the blind. Now if we’re following your logic of this as proof of faith healing, then every blind person who has faith should be able to see today just like these blind men were able to see, but that’s not the case. So the question we have to ask then, is why did Jesus heal people at this time? Well, I would suggest John 20:30-31 answers that question for us, which states, “30Therefore many other signs Jesus also performed in the presence of the disciples, which are not written in this book; 31but these have been written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing you may have life in His name.” These were not only written to prove to us that He was who He was, but the purpose of the performing of the miracles was to prove that he was in fact the son of God. Just as Moses proved he was called from God by performing miracles, and just as the Apostles proved they were representing God by performing miracles such as when they spoke in tongues in Acts 2, and thus convinced the Jews to believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Now with Mark 11:22-24, we again have to look at context. Who was Jesus speaking to? He was speaking to Peter in this verse, thus this statement is being applied to Peter it appears. This does not appear to be a statement explicitly directed to the Body of Christ as a whole. And I think the fact that Peter asks for all of the healings he performs in Acts in the name of Jesus is proof of this statement being applied to him and the other Apostles for that matter. And why was this statement of power given to Peter, I would suggest it was to prove he was representing God, and prove again and again to the Jews that the Gospel of Jesus Christ was true. Hebrews 11 overall appears to be referring to the future promise of salvation brought by faith. Observe verse 13 which states, “All of these died in faith without having received the promises, but from a distance they saw and greeted them.” and observe verse 39-40 “Yet all these, though they were commended for their faith, did not receive what was promised, 40 since God had provided something better so that they would not, apart from us, be made perfect. Now in between those verses when it’s talking about by faith, I would suggest to you it’s talking about obedience. Because the use of the phrase by faith in most of those verses, followed an action. And as we know, faith without works is dead, so I would suggest to you it’s stressing the importance of that as we get to our eventual salvation. Psalm 37, this is David speaking. Now I think it’s important to ask, who would David be directing the psalm to? Well, we know for a fact this is not directed to the body of Christ, because he wasn’t alive by the time it was established. More likely, he’s directing this to the people of Israel. So we don’t follow this psalm as instructed to us, similar to how we don’t follow the Law in the Old Testament anymore, but it’s all still an important part of knowing the history of things. So that verse not being applied to us, would thus seem to not follow with your statement of God putting in us a desire to want more and faith being needed for that. Now you say the just live by faith, and that’s true, but faith is not merely a strong feeling of belief (and I would actually suggest to you it’s not a feeling at all but that’s another discussion), but as illustrated in Hebrews 11, and James 2:26, faith appears to be active obedience. Now it’s not desire that I suggest hinders the kingdom of God, because we all have desire, I only suggest it’s the thought that some believe that’s what God created man for, to fulfill ma’s desires, that hinders the advancement of the kingdom. If anything, God wants us not to presume we shall get our desires fulfilled as it states in James 4:13-15 “13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— 14 yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. 15 Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” If the Lord wills, good things we desire to do or want to happen may happen, but ultimately, it’s the glory of God and the advancement of the Gospel of Jesus Christ that’s all that appears to matter. Because eternity is a much greater end than any end we could ever obtain on earth. And I would say I don’t suggest he’s only known for suffering and lack in this viewpoint. Because we’re blessed even when we suffer or lack, because we have the peace, joy, and contentment of living for God and Jesus, just as Paul was content in doing so no matter what his circumstances were, which sometimes they were really good, and sometimes they were really bad. To your provider point, I would suggest Scripture seems to show that it’s our conduct, and not our personal gains, that influences people. As to what you proclaim as promises, I’ve addressed earlier in the verses you’ve referenced as appearing to be taken out of context. And speaking of referencing, to the last verse you referenced, we have to look at things in context again. The requests being referred to as being obtained appears to be talking about life being given to someone committing a non-mortal sin. Look at the verse before and after the verses you quoted. Verse 13 states, “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life.” and verse 16 states, “If you see your brother or sister[d] committing what is not a mortal sin, you will ask, and God[e] will give life to such a one—to those whose sin is not mortal” So with that last verse addressed, as I stated earlier, I hope I don’t come off as if I’m tying to just debate you, and I respect if you end up still disagreeing and allow you to have the last word. But I hope you’ll thoughtfully consider the points I made about reading those verses in context, and once again, I do appreciate the time you took to respond, and your respectfulness in conversing with me, as I hope my words have been as respectful as my intent is for them to be. 🙂

    Reply

    • Young Woman in Action
      Dec 25, 2014 @ 09:47:43

      You have indeed said a mouthful here. I guess the main difference is that I use the Bible for instruction in my daily living, not for information. To me, it is the living Word of God–all of it! The fact that I have been engrafted into his family through adoption means that the scriptures do apply to me, not only to the Jews 2000 years ago. Thank you so much for the thorough response. I too appreciate the respectful discourse. Merry Christmas!

      Reply

  3. Wale.
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 18:27:02

    I love the easy going nature of your blog & its to the glory of GOD that youbare cancer free! Thats a wonderful testimony…

    However….whilst i understand your daily living mindset…your ‘if you want it say it’ will be very misleading

    Simply put …christianity is about a life of sacrifice ‘matt 16:24’.sacrifice our ourselves (ambition/old nature/etc) that the eternak purpose of GOD nay be established…

    No longer owning ourselves, 70%+ (thats an arbitary figure) of our ‘desires’/’wants’ should revolve around God’s wants and desires! ‘Thy kingdom come on earth’….if the balance is skewed more towards self..then we are in error.

    Its part if God’s plan that we will not aways have our wants – but our needs (needs r the major things like the right spouse) in order that we may learn to abase & abound

    Fact based truth: you might be mistaken in thinking that GOD cannot be ‘pressured’ into giving us ‘things outside his perfect will’…..but there is a price to this…
    The mixed multitude amongst the isrealites in the wilderness pressured GOD to get meat…not just manner….Psalm 106:15 tells us that GOD ceded to their request (permissive will) but he ‘added leaness to their souls’

    God Bless

    Reply

    • Young Woman in Action
      Jan 01, 2015 @ 18:51:12

      Wale, thanks for visiting my site and for leaving a thought-provoking comment! I do not mind constructive criticism, as it genders growth, so thank you. I do see how what I’ve said can be received differently by different people based on individual beliefs and teaching. I also submit this (I really may get some push back on this, but it’s okay:). Imagine God laying before each of us a table spread with all of the things that He’s sanctioned and provided for us (options if you will). What is wrong with making a choice from that table of what we would like to experience in our lives (ie. divine health, prosperity, peace, joy, abundance etc.)? Confession to me is a way of making those choices. God does give us free will to choose. Would you agree? I choose life in the spirit realm and in the natural.
      The great thing is we don’t owe it to each other to agree, but we do owe it to each other to love, so thanks again for lovingly sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      Reply

      • Wale.
        Jan 01, 2015 @ 19:48:59

        I wasnt outrightly critisicing what you said..i agree with many points you made in fact….what i am saying though is as long as ‘our desires & needs’ dont becone the focal point of our following him (‘that would be self serving’) then its all good.

        As for enjoying GOD..& your allegory of the ‘buffet table’…what a wonderful place to be!!!! Who doesnt kove an all you can eat 🙂

        In fact Songs of Solomon 2:4 clearly depicts this buffet experience:
        Song of Songs 2:4 GNB
        “He brought me to his banqueting hall and raised the banner of love over me”

        Is just that the prevailing ‘mindset’ in modern christianity today is one which selectively chooses the good stuff..without wanting to bear any responsibilities!….

        In songs of songs we see a reciprocal love between them..but a lot of what we see now is akin to Halotry….’ok GOD..i’ll takr your protectiob/provisions & blessings…but completely ignore the needs of your house-soul sinning etc’

        Thus my ‘caution’ that you perhaps inject more balance to the tone??

      • Young Woman in Action
        Jan 01, 2015 @ 19:57:55

        Gotcha!

  4. Wale.
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 18:32:27

    In addition: what i guess i was really trying to pass across is that when it concerns this message of ‘name it & claim it’ try to put it in better context…

    Your energy is infectious…lol

    Reply

  5. Young Woman in Action
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 19:12:33

    One more thing, Wale and feel free to comment on this also. I was reading Matthew 16:24 which says that in order to follow Christ we need to deny ourselves. I understand that to mean the we are to deny our fleshly selves, which tends to desires things that are contrary to the will of God. Anything we desire outside of His will should definitely be abandoned. But our desires that are in line with His will should be enjoyed and showcased for His glory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

