Get Busy With Purpose

office_workerI was in the mall today when I ran into a classmate from high school who was working in one of the retail stores. We talked for a few minutes to catch up and then we said goodbye. About an hour later, I pulled up to the gas station and saw her again, but this time she was dressed in a restaurant uniform.

“You’re working two jobs, girl?” I asked out of my car window.

“I actually work three jobs” she said, with a giggle.

“Why are you working so much?” I knew she was single with no children or family to support so I couldn’t understand the need to work so hard. “I’m not trying to give you a hard time or anything, but that’s got to be tiresome.”

“I am tired she said, and my sister fusses at me all the time about working so hard, but ever since my mom died I needed something to keep my mind busy” she admitted.

I was right. It wasn’t about the money. She just needed a distraction from the pain and emptiness she was feeling inside. Knowing that what she actually needed was the healing that only a true relationship with Christ can bring, I asked her what church she attended. As I suspected, she wasn’t regularly attending church because of all her jobs. No wonder she felt empty. Without a continual feeding of the Word of God and time spent in His presence, emptiness will occur in any of us. And what do empty people do? Try to find something, anything to fill their void. Some people use relationships, some people use shopping, some people use illegal substances, and some people use jobs like this young lady. But why not use God.

No, I don’t mean use God in a negative sense, but I mean engaging in the activities that He’s provided for us that give our lives purpose and meaning, like church and ministry service. While I do agree that we need to have a level of productive activity in our lives to keep us from being idle and yes, to keep our minds from dwelling on negative things, I do believe that it should be something purposeful. Instead of giving all of your valuable time and energy to a job that has no eternal reward attached to it, why not invest that time into something that does affect you (and those around you whose lives you were sent here to touch) now and for eternity? Only what you do for Christ shall last. I don’t care how good you are at your natural job, God has an even greater plan for your life beyond what you could think or imagine. And many times that plan is discovered during your service in kingdom through the local church. Most of the things I am gifted at doing were discovered and/or cultivated as a result of working in my church: singing, writing, speaking, teaching, working with children, and even taking pictures. Had I not been connected to my ministry I’m not sure that I would have had the opportunity to grow in so many areas.

Some non-church goers might argue that church attendance and membership is not necessary. I disagree, but don’t take my word for it. God’s word says  “Not forsaking or neglecting to assemble together [as believers], as is the habit of some people, but admonishing (warning, urging, and encouraging) one another, and all the more faithfully as you see the day approaching” (Hebrews 10:25 AMP). A benefit to believers is the encouragement we provide to one another–something my classmate could sure use to help her through this difficult time in her life. Another benefit is in discovering God’s purpose for our lives. You could be doing some real good in your daily life, but that doesn’t mean that it is what God preordained and called you to do. A good thing doesn’t equal a God thing. Think about the sons of Sceva in Acts 19:14. They took it upon themselves to do what they saw the apostle Paul doing–casting out evil spirits. Was it a good thing to do? Sure. Paul did it. But was it God’s thing for them to do? Apparently not because at their promptings for the evil spirits to come out of a man, those spirits said “Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are ye?” (Acts 19:15 KJV) Then they leaped on them, overcame them, and beat them naked. I’d say knowing your specific purpose is paramount.

One purpose that we all share is to win souls for Christ. Doesn’t it makes sense that more souls can be reached through the local church body than through one person working at it alone? The resources of each member pooled together can go much further and have a greater impact on the kingdom of God. You are needed to fulfill God’s will in the earth both as an individual and as a supportive contributor to the local church. So don’t just get busy. Get busy with purpose by being busy about your Father’s business.

 

Based on Chapter 7 of “Wait on God: What Every Single Woman Should Know to Receive God’s Best!” Order your copy at http://www.BrianaGWhitaker.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Capitola Vaughn
    Dec 20, 2014 @ 22:42:32

    Love it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

